The new dream act which has been passed by the House of Representatives is a 3 step process to naturalization. The length of the process depends on education, current immigration status, and work history. 

How does the new dream act work? 

Step 1: Conditional Permanent Residence 

An individual would be able to obtain conditional permanent residence if the person had DACA, or if they meet certain criteria listed below: 

  • Came to US as a child
  • Has been admitted to institution of higher education (university, or grad school), or has graduated high school, orr obtained a GED, or is currently enrolled in secondary school or program, to obtain high school diploma or GED. 
  • Has not committed certain crimes. 

Step 2: Lawful Permanent Residence 

Anyone who maintains Conditional Permanent Residence Status can apply for a permanent residence “Green Card” by satisfying one of the following three conditions:

  • Military Service: Complete 2 years of military service with an honorable discharge.
  • Higher Education:
    • Acquired a decree from a higher institution, or 
    • Has completed two years in a program for bachelors, or higher degree in the United States in good standing.
    • Work: Has employment over a period of three years (75% of the time)

Step 3: Naturalization 

Maintain Legal Permanent Residence status for five years, and then can apply though the general naturalization process. 

When will the H.R.6 be enacted into law? 

A bill must be passed by both the House and Senate (in the identical form), and then be signed by the President to become law. The current status of the bill is as follows:

Status: Passed in house (03/18/2021)  link:

Status in Senate: Received in the Senate and referred to the Committee on the Judiciary.